Did a freedive course

• Been a while since I have posted, just not motivated I guess, killed some fish had a few epic once in a lifetime experiences but havent been sharing :nono:... But at home at the moment playing nurse to my very sick gal dog so I decided to start with one thread I have wanted to do, especially this the month of our friend Nate passing while chasing a fish alone. To be clear I do 90% of my diving alone like he did, I know its retarded thing to do and so did he, but some cloth is just cut a certain way.
    Important to state I am a self taught freediver who has made it to 100ft depth before attending the class, my average bottom time was 1:10 once warmed up, and hunting seriously. My goals were with this course not to dive deeper( I dive where the fish are, thats my only goal underwater) but to dive safer, learn my limits safely, which I hoped would allow me more latitude and confidence while enjoying my hunting.
    During the restart of my freediving in 2013 I joined this site, I smoked over a pack of cigarettes for most of my adult life (27 years smoking), and so for obvious reasons I had not been freediving during those years. I had read all I could about freediving safely, and watched safety videos, this led me to believe I was fairly knowledgeable about freediving safety and rescue/recovery practices... (nuttin ah go so) I DID NOT! Please if it is available to you take a course, just for the rescue part its worth it. Now I don’t know if a instructor makes that much of a difference on a structured course, but I had Jonathan Sunnex aka Johnny deep https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=axz0cudHZTc . Dude does spear and is one of the most chilled individuals I have ever met; it truly was a privilege learning from one of the best on the planet.
    Anyway, I entered the AIDA course with certain prejudice gained mostly here on this site :D , one i still agree with, and thats about static breath hold
    What I took away?