Bloody Nose

• Hey all, I'm new to the site. My name is Clarke and I'm just getting into spearfishing. I use a pole spear. Anyways, the past 3 times I've been out, after I get back on shore I'll spit and there will be blood in the mix. Or if I blow my nose, blood will come out. It's not like a nose bleed because I've gotten those before and there's no stopping, it's just some blood mixed in with my snot as gross as that sounds.

I'm 100% sure the blood is coming from my nose and not anywhere else. I do have a little bit of a cold. I looked up some things on the internet and apparently a tight mask and a cold + diving don't mix too well. I only dive like 12 to 15 feet at the most. I just want to know why I get the blood? And will this always happen? Should I wait until I'm not sick anymore to go spearing again?

Thanks...

• Blood in the snot is usually associated with equalizing problems. Were you having difficulty equalizing and blow too hard? You can force it and dive like this, but if you always do it eventually you'll have a time where the effects will persist after the dive, and may completely prevent you from equalizing and diving again for a couple of weeks. It's not a big deal but best to stop and not dive for a couple of days until your passages clear up.

Thread moved to diving section.

• welcome to the board
    as for the nose blood, i think it just happens to some divers perhaps related to thin capilaries or nasal membranes..based on the fact that you are congested I would say it is more related to that...esp at the shallow depths you are diving

my advice would be to let your cold pass, then get in the habit of either taking sudafed the night before a dive of using a sinus rinse (i use the neti pot) often to keep your sinuses clear.

on a side note, since you are in my neighborhood, we wont be diving for a while looking at the extended forecast :@
    happy and safe diving

i like to spear fish