Windsurf Board as a dive boat?

• I'm going through a few different ideas before I buy a kayak. Main reason I'm thinking of alternatives is that I live on the second floor of a Condo and would have to carry the kayak up a flight of stairs by myself.

I thought about buying the Banks Board. My main hesitation is that I am new to spearfishing and for that matter freediving too. I feel I should start with something that I could get the H*LL out of the water if I get spooked by some imaginary Crack Head Great White or a RABID Barracuda wearing a San Lazaro rope chain.

I came across an old 10' Windsurf board that I can pick up for $50. I thought if rigged properly it would make a stable platform to carry my stuff and me if I need to get out of the water. I've been in the water with sharks before and didn't panick but something about a 300 yard swim back with a shark in the water that has me nervous.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated! Oh and Id be diving off Ft Lauderdale beach so if I could meet some of you guys that would be awesome. I'll pay for good advise with good beer.

• I've gone this exact route before. The windsurfing board catches chop too easily, slap slap under the front of the board and too much drag. Avoid wasted time and money, you're better off with a very small kayak. The windsurfing board sold on Craigslist for the same price I bought it..

• TY for replying.

How common is it to run into sharks off Ft Lauderdale beach? I'm going to be starting off with a Pole Spear, from what I read Powerheads don't work with those.
    Any other alternatives?