Breath up

• I am new to free diving. I plan on doing alot of free dive spearfishing on the beach wrecks In hatteras Any advice would be greatly appereciated. I can hold my breath for 2:15. I only plan on diving to 25 ft. Is SWB even a factor?

• YES! Note the S & W in SWB. Start slow and learn where your comfort levels are, then expand them. Dive with a Buddy and have fun.

"Whiskey don't make liars, it just makes fools. So, I didn't mean to say it, but I meant what I said."
    -James McMurtry

• I am new to free diving. I plan on doing alot of free dive spearfishing on the beach wrecks In hatteras Any advice would be greatly appereciated. I can hold my breath for 2:15. I only plan on diving to 25 ft. Is SWB even a factor?

You can SWB in a puddle if you breath up in a certain way or stay in it for too long.

People mostly black out for two reasons.

1) They overstay their downtime. They feel the desire to breath but ignore it eventually blacking out.

2) They improperly calibrate their c02 levels before a dive (usually by "breathing up" in a way that reduces c02) they don't feel the desire to breath, but blackout near the end of the dive.

Both are easy to avoid by following stick-ems advice. Start slow, dive with a friend, and go deeper only as you are comfortable. Learn and then listen to your bodies signals and don't push your limits while spearfishing. Push your limits in a pool or just free diving, again with a buddy. Spearfishing isn't the place to push them too far.