O2 and Co2 Tables

• OK, I am new to free diving and I know that this has been posted a hundred times on here but with the large amount of info, some of it being a tad dated, and many of the threads diverging a bit from the original topic I have found it difficult to get a clear picture. So at the risk of redundancy; I am trying to find info on exercises to increase my depth and bottom times. I am a runner and swimmer so my lung capacity is decent from the start but I know that this differs from training ones body to deal with a surplus/deficit in CO2/O2 respectively. So far these are the exercises I have found. They are similar to some I have done for lifeguard training but I am curious as to how to progress through them so to increase my ability. Any other info on this like books, websites, etc are also appreciated. I am trying to do this safely as many times I will probably be doing this solo after I get the hang of it. Thanks. :toast: Slainte.

CO2:
    - start -
    - Hold 2mins
    - Recover 2mins
    - Hold 2mins
    - Recover 1min
    - Hold 2mins
    - Recover 30secs
    - Hold 2mins
    - Recover 15secs
    - Hold 2mins.
    - finish -

O2:
    - start -
    - Hold 1 min
    - Recover 2 mins
    - Hold 1.5 min
    - Recover 2 mins
    - Hold 2 mins
    - Recover 2 mins
    - Hold 2.5 mins
    - Recover 2 mins
    - Hold 3 mins
    - Recover 2 mins
    - Hold 3.5 mins
    - Recover 2 mins
    -end with a max effort

• Howdy Sean, glad you made it over here. the place to be:)

I agree with Dan about diving being the bes training, but I do a similar thing to those tables every once in a while just to get my body used to wanting to breath and not doing it.. I also will do occasional apnea walks (on grass!!! not cement) for the benefit of adding phyiscal exertion and sometimes I will hit the treadmill with a snorkel..that makes for some very funny looks

i like to spear fish

• diving is good training but you can also incorporate other training methods as well.