Puerto Beach, Ilocos Sur Philippines

• Greeting from the Philippines
    I am a retired school district Administrator who is married to a lovely Filipino and resides 6 months out of the year in our home in northern Luzon right on the China Sea. I live in Wisconsin State side and come here for the winters with my wife and two children

The first thing I do every morning is go to the front glass sliding doors of our home over looking the China Sea and see if the ocean is calling me. I go fishing almost every day I begin at about 6:45 AM and return just before noon. I go on days. The local fishermen take a pass. I enter the sea via the shore right dead in front of our home. The reef here has been fished out over the years and dynamite has taken its toll also. Still there is a fish sanctuary that is being respected now and things are on the mend. So hope is alive and well.

I have been a scuba diver for over twenty years but there is no where to fill tank within a four hours drive so I began to just snorkel and enjoy the reef. My brother-in-laws fish to feed their families. I began by following them out for fun. The next year I bought a pole spear and learned on my own how to catch small fish. Every thing I catch is consumed within 24 hours by relatives.

The following year I purchased a Riffe Competitor 39” inch gun (100 cm) and moved up the food chain. Still due to the scarcity of fish and the skittish nature of those that still inhabited the reef I needed to reach out further to catch the few decent size fish available. So I had Daryl Wong make me a 55” GR hybrid and developed my skill and technique to the point that the locals had to admit I was a fisherman.