Beer, Gas, and Power Tools

• Well, it's time for the old girl to get a new fuel tank.I started to see some fuel in my bilge last spring and opened up the hatch and could smell gas. I put this off half of the season last year because frankly it took a little while (for my balls to drop) before I was ready to cut the deck out of my boat. THANK GOD (or who ever else you like) that I did. The amount of gas trapped in the foam throughout the hull was flat scary. I honestly can't believe this thing never caught fire-and now I know where all that gas was going (a few times I thought I got siphoned). I finally got around to roping my brother ( a 100 ton captain in AK) into getting things started for me. This is all second nature to him, but brand new to me-so his input is priceless here. He goes back to work in a week and we have to at least get a start on this before he leaves- so tune in for a "quickie" gas tank swap. Feel free to offer pointers, but be gentle-it's my first time:laughing:

"Whiskey don't make liars, it just makes fools. So, I didn't mean to say it, but I meant what I said."
    -James McMurtry

• She's Out. Time for a beer run. Better save the install for tomorrow. :toast:

"Whiskey don't make liars, it just makes fools. So, I didn't mean to say it, but I meant what I said."
    -James McMurtry

• I don't have a good pic of the boat clean Dan. I suffered a massive computer crash a while back and just wouldn't know where to look. I will get one up after she's all buffed up and full of juice. :)

-James McMurtry

• Dan,
    Thread a tape measure into the hole where the fuel sender goes. Measure from side to side of hole and front to back...cross fingers and cut. The important part is leaving a nice 'lip' for re-glassing the deck.

-James McMurtry