A Mediterranean guy in Dubai

• Hi everybody,
    just landed in Dubai and already had the chance to feel the warmth of the water. Surprising I would say.
    Well, if anyone is fishing in Dubai or close by, I would be delighted to get in touch.
    I'm spearfishing since 10 years in Tunisia.
    See you soon,
    Kamel

• Hello Kamel! Welcome to Speardiver! And welcome to the UAE!
    I'm relatively new to Speardiver as well. You'll find that this forum is THE best spearfishing forum there is! :thumbsup2:

I live in the UAE as well, in Sharjah (very close to Dubai). In fact, many spearo's hunt in Sharjah, Ajman and neighboring emirates due to the ongoing artificial island construction off the shores of Dubai.
    The viz here in the UAE (Persian gulf coast) is not too great, but in the winter, it could open up to around 30-40 feet at times.
    Due to the Viz, the most used speargun size varies from 80cm to 110cm. Some Spearo's also use 120cm and above for wreck diving from a boat.

Compared to the Mediterranean, The 'fishy' depths are relatively shallower here. In fact, you can find nice Snappers and Groupers in less than 10 metres depth! In this case, the hazy viz is an advantage! Due to the scarcity of natural underwater structure in the Arabian/Persian gulf, a lot of fish congregate at man made breakwater rocks. So shore diving is fairly simple!

Sharks are not an issue on this coast (or so I've heard), but be VERY wary of Jetski's and boats. Every other douchebag has a jetski here. And sometimes if they see you, they'll take that opportunity to splash water at you whilst coming within 2 feet of you! They have NO sense of personal responsibility!