Quickie in Thailand

• Hey Guys,

I managed to get down south to my friends resort last week for a few days, the purpose of the trip was to fix up an abandoned 44" cat and tow it back to the mainland. A bit of spearing was planned in between and some beers, spicy food and catching up too.

I have been spearing this spot for over ten years now, it used to be full of pretty good fish, once in a while i would see grouper to big to shoot with the guns use at this spot. They were so few and far between that i gave up taking the 140 and going trophy hunting after about 10 dives. These were not monsters but big at about 75kg.

It wasn’t unusual to land 15kg cobia, 20kg Cuda and Milkfish up to 20kg too. unfortunately things change, spots gets discovered and then they get popular and then they become part of the tourist trap, we move on and find virgin grounds and we get followed and so on.... Thailand is a pretty small county and with 62,000,000 people and a HUGE tourism industry there are not many spot X's left.

Today its rare to spear anything over 15kg at this site, the big grouper are long gone, either caught by rod and line fisherman or lurking in the depths, i hope they’re lurking somewhere, watching me, learning, waiting.... but its wishful thinking......

The first day we arrived on the island it was time to catch up with the locals and take a look at the catamaran, i had mixed feelings about it...... until i saw it! She is a beauty, 44" of bliss, O.K both hulls were badly damaged, she had been stripped down to the shell pretty much, but what was left was awesome. I knew straight away that with about 25,000 U.S.D we will have her sea worthy and also looking and feeling better than new.