Maintaining proper form on the surface

• when i exale i cant stay still because i tend to sink a bit , so i have to kick a couple of times to stay afloat. I don't really have a set technique , sometimes I do one way sometimes another. I don't really know why i do it one way or another.

• I have trouble getting relaxed because I seem to float vertically. The only way that I can get balanced to float horizontally is to wear only the bottom half of a two piece suit, which isn't practical except in the very warmest months here. Otherwise, I'm very leg heavy. I feel like I can't relax because I am constantly finning to stay horizontal, or else allow myself to float vertically and have to do a 180° turn to start the dive.

I'm pretty new to this, so any thoughts would be appreciated. I'm hoping that I'm overlooking the obvious.

• when i exale i cant stay still because i tend to sink a bit , so i have to kick a couple of times to stay afloat. I don't really have a set technique , sometimes I do one way sometimes another. I don't really know why i do it one way or another.

sounds like you have too much weight on your belt which is very common in freediving spearos.

What kinda wetsuit do you have? Open cell or closed cell

Whats your weight?

• I'm not sure how fast your legs sink Jeff. For me it's like what Pantoja said. I like enough weight on to have an easy descent. I feel that more energy is expended when breaking the surface than throughout the whole dive. It is at the very beginning of the descent when I know if I'm going to have a good dive or not. So I like to have enough weight on to facilitate breaking the surface. It may go against conventional safety procedures but I float vertically, with the top of my head just on the surface, with my lungs full. When I exhale about half of my air I start to sink slowly.