Frickin' Jake.. spearfishing Belize

• Just me and Jake. The boys had homework or something.
    We dropped another FAD after losing....or someone stole it.....the first one. This one is just a pallet, some floaters and these really neat "aqua mats" designed for shrimp hatcheries but they provide a lot of habitat under water.
    Then we headed another 10 miles out. Found a school of dogs that must have had over 200 fish. But they were educated. Too smart for us. We each got one then headed back to the reef.
    found a few more dogs but as soon as Jake shot one, a barracuda came in so I shot it before it could make a grab for the snapper. Then, as usual for this spot, sharks showed up.
    This spot is only about half mile from the FAD.
    Anyway, cool day.

[/IMG]
    [/IMG]

• Hey all,

I'm a novice to the sport, and have only used a "slingshot-like" Hawaiian sling previously. I was wondering if there is a place to pick up a 1 1/4" stainless steel shaft.

thanks,
    dd

• Big dogs Hank and Jake... Sweet!

Thanks George. I'm really stoked about the FAD. We set it at 350 ffeet deep based on the length of rope. I put an old pallet floating with a line and another floater off that. Underneath we have this large.....almost hula skirt looking things. A woven mat type thing that's about 6 feet wide. It has long "fingers" trailing off in the current. One at about 12 feet down the line and another at about 25 feet. It looks pretty unreal. We'll see.
    The current was ripping and it held in place for the 8 hours we watched after setting it.....oh please....ph please. haha.

That's a real active spot. While I was on scuba looking for our old FAD line I found a really nice new wall that was covered.....ok, ok....it had 5 nice sized black grouper. All I could do was look. No gun, plus respect for the law. The current was coming in perpendicular to it. That usually makes for a lot of activity. We'll see badehhhh. :D

Edited 2 times, last by hank ().