Might buy a boat - what do you guys think

• SO I've been hunting around for deals on kayaks and every now and then I'll glance around at boats just to see whats out there. Well the boating bug really bit me after spending miniseason out on my friends dusky cc. So the search continued and after finding some good deals and then finding out they'd been sold I stumbled across a 1996 proline 200 stalker with 150 mariner. Ok so my g/f actually found it, its her uncles and it turns out he wants it gone doesnt want to fix it and needs the money etc. It seems the motor overheats but I havent had anytime to look into it, just going based on what he says. The good news is he takes excellent care of it - washes it weekly and waxes monthly even though it hasnt been run in 6-8 months. Also, he just bought a new continental tandem axle trailer for it as well as a new fish finder and radar (all within the past year to year/half) He wants $3500 for it as is. What do you guys think?

• As a mechanic I don't think it will be that difficult for you to learn the boat engine. If the hull and trailer are in good condition it's a nobrainer. Having my own boat is great, not having to depend on others for my diving.

• I googled the stalker series and they look like a flats boat, will be really bumpy in the ocean. I believe a boat is a huge investment, they buying price will seem small compared to the maintenance.

Davie Peguero