Shallow water hunting techniques

• Hey everyone,

Ive been speardiving for about 8 months now and need some advice. I hope this is safe to ask online here, so here it goes:

What are some proven techniques that the seasoned divers use for 40ft and under? Do you duck dive the same way as for a deep dive, holding the gun by the handle upside down? When surface swimming, do you try to cover as much ground as possible or do you drift slowly? What do you do/not do when fish are real spooky that day for whatever reason?

What I am doing now:

I surface swim with my gun upside down held in my right hand by the handle. After I breathe up, with my gun pointed straight down, I remove the snorkel from my mouth and conduct my duck dive and am able to get down about 10'. Once completely submerged my right arm holding the speargun is tucked next to my body with my right hand close to my hip. I try to be as vertical as possible when going down and once at my desired depth I plane out still keeping the speargun tucked at my side. The only time the gun leaves my side is when getting ready to dive or when I see a target species. I don't know if its my technique, or the fishing pressure that keeps the fish spooked but I am always seeking improvement. When Im not diving, I am thinking about diving and my technique. It's become an obsession.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Later,

Chase

Relax & Go Spearfishing

• Holding a gun by the handle looks pretty slick, but it doesn't work for me. I'm always using a float line and must have a solid grip on the gun, so I hold it in the middle. When I dive I bend at the hips and throw forward/down both my arms. I stroke with my left arm to get some depth, at the same time the right arm extended forward with the gun provides resistance against the water to maintain the downward direction. The I tuck the gun to my side for the rest of the way.