Hello from PR and Dominican Republic!

• Hi:

My name is Jorge Luis. Im from Puerto Rico and have 23 years, Im a biologist and also a veterinary student at the Universidad Central del Este at Dominican Republic. As you may guess this two islands are my diving spots :D. I was introduced to this forum by attan, a great friend of mine and also a great spearfisher. We began our spearfishing specifically in Ballena Beach at Yauco, PR. At first we were so rookies that we just have one speargun, no gloves, bodyboarding fins, a cheap mask and snorkel, but also a lot ignorance and urges to fish as you can see. :crazy:

As the time passed by, we encountered serious problems from the lack of gear, like boat passing very close to us, also bites from eels, bull and tiger shark sightings, hipotermia, lost tips and fish and other stuff I cannot say here hehehehe, we gained more experience and with that, more necessary gear. Thanks God I didnt lost my finger from that eel!!! but almost!!!:thumbsup2:

In PR, when Im in vacations, attan and I go to Guanica, Rincon, Yauco, Cabo Rojo and other costal towns in here. The fish are abundant, healthy but pretty smart!!! No wonder they got so big!! Now in the Dominican republic i havent found a trustworthy companion for a 4 hour fishing schedule, but i have snorkeled with some friends and i can say its pretty much like here, hey, its the same sea.

I was introduced to this sport by my brother in law, Ousama Bin Salha, a great guy, and also an awesome spearfisher. he tought me everyting i needed to know, and also the gear that I needed, but by that time I didnt listen to his warnings :@, bad bad bad. Now we know better and have a gloves, diving fins, better masks and snorkels, wetsuits, boys, flags, fish holders.... welll you know, all of that. he is coming in June to PR from Lebanon where he lives and spearfish every week, I hope i can introduce him to you all.